Skip to content

The Figure in the Carpet

.

.

.

.

.

.

This miniseries was inspired by Kate Shrewsday’s post here: http://kateshrewsday.com/2014/01/06/dragon-slayers-and-knuckerholes/ Read the first post in the miniseries here: http://andrawatkins.com/2014/01/14/dungeons-and-dragons/ and the second post here: http://andrawatkins.com/2014/01/15/the-long-way-home/

1.22.1804: “I inclosed you the map of a Mr. Evans, a Welshman, employed by the Spanish government for that purpose, but whose original object I believe had been to go in search of the Welsh Indians, said to be up the Missouri.” —to Captain Meriwether Lewis from President Thomas Jefferson

Thomas Jefferson believed both the Madoc legend and the possibility of Welsh natives, and who better to find them than an explorer of Welsh descent? Meriwether Lewis’s father came from the Welsh strain of Lewises. Even though his father died when Meriwether was five years old, his son identified with his Welsh heritage.

Meaning he might have been excited by the prospect of finding his ancient kinsman. Coupled with his profound respect for Jefferson, Lewis would have set out on the expedition keen to prove the Madoc rumor true if he could justify it with the science of the day.

While he wrote about light-haired, blue-eyed natives, he never really believed they were descendants of the lost tribe of Madoc. He thought the Mandan language should bear similarities to Welsh, and he concluded that it did not contain the required markers.

He used his Spanish maps to continue his journey, and he interpreted them better than the Spanish, as it turned out. The Spanish used the same maps to attempt to locate the Lewis & Clark expedition. Their charge? Find the team of intruders………and kill them.

To be continued…..

soulard map of louisiana

40 Comments Post a comment
  1. It’s beautifull.

    January 17, 2014
  2. Ooooh. SUSPENSE! In a hilarious aside (well, to me), this almost sounds like something Ubisoft would have cooked up as part of the historical plot line to Assassin’s Creed III:

    Anyway, I’m on the edge of my seat, so get with the rest of the tale before I fall off and hurt myself. Granted, falling off a chair onto the carpet won’t hurt at all, but I could fall on my keys or some loose pocket change (ouch)…

    January 17, 2014
    • Haha. At our house, I would fall on concrete. Carpet is better. Sans change.

      January 17, 2014
  3. defensordelaverdad #

    Reblogged this on Fabián.

    January 17, 2014
  4. I’m sensing more and more how Meriwether Lewis has taken in you a writing captive, Andra. I’m reminded of how dangerous these explorations were. Well, ’tis another minus degree morning here, so, off I go, glad for your entry – and that I’m not Sacajawea.

    January 17, 2014
    • I still can’t believe she had a baby on that trip. Ouch and brrrr and more ouch.

      January 17, 2014
  5. “To seek out new life, and new civilizations” … and kill them.

    Hey, this fried Martian tastes like chicken!

    January 17, 2014
  6. The plot deepens. This makes me happy.

    January 17, 2014
    • I never realized some of the stuff that went on behind the scenes. It was fun to research.

      January 17, 2014
  7. Love a good map!!! And I’m loving this series.

    January 17, 2014
    • I can’t fault the Spanish. I don’t think I could’ve followed that map, either.

      January 17, 2014
  8. Wow, seriously? I’ve never heard any of this stuff before.

    January 17, 2014
    • It came from what started as a rabbit trail and ended up fundamentally changing my book.

      January 17, 2014
      • That is some great stuff to make room and deco for. Mm hmm!

        January 17, 2014
  9. tarakianwarrior #

    Lovely.

    January 17, 2014
  10. I’m vaguely aware of this tidbit of history because, supposedly, according to a dubious family history written by a wacky distant cousin, some of my Welsh ancestors were part of this alleged tribe. Maybe.

    January 17, 2014
    • Those are the best family histories, though. 🙂 I’d love to read it.

      January 17, 2014
  11. This is exhilarating stuff! It’s so thrilling to be on this adventure with you, Andra. I am learning so much!

    January 17, 2014
    • I never knew the Spanish went after Lewis & Clark. Multiple times.

      January 17, 2014
  12. I agree with Debra. Fascinating!

    January 17, 2014
    • I was pretty captivated when I came across this tidbit.

      January 17, 2014
  13. Maybe this shows how much of a geek I am but I really love old maps.

    January 17, 2014
  14. And I love the things I’m learning from this. It isn’t Scott’s period, so it isn’t something we talk about much, and there’s just tons to make me go “ooooh, I never knew THAT!”

    January 17, 2014
  15. The whole thing seems like a well-crafted suspense adventure plot. You really know how to end an episode on a cliffhanger!

    January 17, 2014
    • I hope I’ve learned to write suspense well by now. We’ll see soon enough.

      January 17, 2014
  16. Crikey. They weren’t very friendly explorers, were they? Enjoying this series, Andra!

    January 17, 2014
    • The Spanish were protecting their interests. That’s how they saw it at the time.

      January 17, 2014
  17. great post in the ongoing saga – p.s. i can barely follow google maps, to this would have been a bit of a challenge )

    January 17, 2014
  18. I’ve been looking forward to hearing more about this!

    January 18, 2014
  19. Yikes! The plot thickens!

    January 18, 2014
  20. Oh, that’s not good. I’m left wondering why…..

    January 19, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. All the Things | The Accidental Cootchie Mama

Talk Amongst Ourselves

