Skip to content

Make a Memory

Pamela Beckford wrote a great Make a Memory post last week. I’m sharing it as fodder to get you thinking, Dear Reader. I hope you’ll submit your own Make a Memory stories directly to me at mystories(at)andrawatkins(dot)com. Between now and January 15, 2015, we will be cataloguing them for the editorial calendar. If I have any questions, I can follow up with you before they post. Please, PLEASE consider sharing a Make a Memory story or inviting someone in your life to Make a Memory with you.

Poetry by Pamela

Andra Watkins posted a blog this morning titled“Make a Memory”. Of course there are all kinds of memories that we can make and we tend to think of those giant memories. You know, the trip of a lifetime or the time you were praised publicly by your boss. But I think the best memories are the memories that just happen quietly. Let me illustrate:

This summer I had the pleasure (although there were a few times I used a different word) of staying with my dad while we made arrangements to move him into a nursing home.

Dad has been completely disabled for several years so he is dependent on someone for his every need – and I do mean his every need. These are things that no daughter ever wants to think about having to help her dad with, but even those moments were times when I…

View original post 79 more words

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thank you for the reblog. Memories are really the only possession that matters

    October 20, 2014
  2. Andra…I love the Make a Memory concept. My submission can be found here:

    http://lifeowryly.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/full-denim-jacket/

    October 20, 2014
    • Great story — lots of memories in there, and a couple of lessons. 🙂

      October 21, 2014
  3. menomama3 #

    I’ll give this some thought, Andra. Love the concept very much.

    October 20, 2014
  4. tarakianwarrior #

    I made a few memories this weekend….by myself and with my parents. Being in the present moment is so helpful to making memories. Andra, I appreciate you. Just thought I’d throw that in there…in case you’ve forgotten. 😉

    October 21, 2014
  5. Pamela’s post was beautiful.
    I’ll think about this. Should we link to your post if we decide to do this?

    October 21, 2014
    • Send it to me at mystories(at)andrawatkins.com. I say that because with my upcoming site change, i’m not sure how links will work.

      October 21, 2014
  6. I enjoyed reading Pamela’s story. I will just have to think about which memory I would most like to share. This is a lovely project, Andra.

    October 22, 2014

Talk Amongst Ourselves

